The Architecture and Urbanism Graduate Program, Federal University of Pará (PPGAU-UFPA), was recommended by CAPES in 2010, at the academic master's level, at the 117th meeting of the Scientific Technical Council of Higher Education - CTC-ES, which occurred on April 28 and 29, 2010.

The activities of PPGAU-UFPA began on September 15, 2010. It is the first stricto sensu Architecture and Urbanism Graduate Program in the north of Brazil, a region that presents a historical demand for qualification, since the first undergraduate degree in architecture is from UFPA and has existed since 1964. In addition, all of its architects and urban planners graduated at master's and / or doctoral level have achieved qualification in other regions or even countries, or locally in other areas of knowledge.

PPGAU-UFPA has a single Area of ​​Concentration denominated "Analysis and design of the built space in the Amazon" and two research lines, namely:

  • Line 01: Architecture, city design and environmental performance;
  • Line 02: Constructive technologies, conservation and restoration;

The objective of PPGAU-UFPA is to change the current framework of the region, which until then had lacked stricto sensu qualification in Architecture and Urbanism, involving the intersection of Technologies with the knowledge of the Humanities, through coordinated actions of Architecture and Urbanism with the Engineering, Geosciences, History and Anthropology fields, reflected in the research lines of the program and in the multidisciplinary composition of its faculty, mostly made up of architects, historians, anthropologists, physicists, engineers and geologists, Doctors in Architecture, Architecture and Urbanism, Mechanical Engineering , Energy Systems, Geosciences, History and Anthropology.

The main objective of PPGAU is to train the researcher for a critical understanding of the production of the built Amazonian space, through paths that address both the viewpoint of the theoretical-methodological discussion and the viewpoint of science and technology in its three research lines.